Chris James’ 3R Cleanse Reviewed

“It does not taste as bad as it looks”

The above sentiment was remarked by my friend when tasting one of my murky brown 3R sachets mixed with freshly made orange juice… Personally I did not mind the taste of them and the cleanse overall. In the past I have tried chugging down bright green spirulina and other weird and wonderful concoctions in the past, in the hope of self-taught detoxing, with little or no avail. Luckily the 3R cleanse sachets are packed with nutrients and a refreshing gingery taste and can actually be enjoyed when being drank. Read below for more about the cleanse and if I actually lost weight or inches…

About the Cleanse 

The website states that the “3R” Cleanse is a unique and condensed cleanse of 3 days. Delicious when added to your fresh pressed juices and smoothies!”

But what do the 3 R’s stand for?

“Day 1 – REMOVE. First day is Elimination Day. Cut out of all the unnatural products from the diet, including refined, and Processed foods.
Day 2 – RESTORE. Second day is Raw. ie raw vegetables and salads, nuts etc.
Day 3 – REJUVENATE. Third day liquid juice & smoothie cleanse. (soup recipes for extra sustenance)

“3R” targets the gut, and is a nutritional powerhouse of antioxidants, protein, and phytosterols. Exciting new ingredients include organic Pumpkin & Chia seeds, Golden Flax, Turmeric, Ginger Root, Dandelion leaf, and Prune Fibre, and L-Glutamine.” *

It is aimed towards those that may have an event coming up, such as a holiday or a wedding and that want to lose a few kilos in a few days to feel great and be mentally prepared. Well, as it turned out I happened to be going on holiday so I decided to give this a go.

Usually I am not a fan of faddy diets or food-less ‘detox’s’ but I wanted to try the 3R cleanse as it seemed different. They were not asking me to starve myself for 3 days nor were they depriving me of essential nutrients. They included healthy, vegan recipes in a small brochure to make this easier. For me this was not just a quick fix, I have worked hard over 7 weeks to shift my gradual winter gain of over half a stone but uh-oh I had plateaued. I started this, hoping the 3R cleanse would break this plateau and help me shift the final few pounds before my holiday….

Day 1 – REMOVE

I like to think that I eat relativity healthy and have a balanced diet but I do suffer from bloating and due to an iron deficiency dropping my energy levels, I have been eating a lot of sugary products these past few months, so I thought it would be a good idea to remove these nasties. For breakfast I had my first orange juice with added 3R Cleanse sachet and made an improvised version of the grain free muesli recipe, following the guidelines in the recipe leaflet provided and served this with blueberries, grapes and almond milk… so far so good.

Muesli Breakfast

Muesli Breakfast

Lunch was a mixture of two of the recipes to create a Mexican style avocado salad; this was not my favourite meal but nor was it inedible. I then had my second cleanse drink and prepared for an afternoon of resisting the urge to snack at my desk, which was surprisingly easier than usual.

Mexican Style Salad

Mexican Style Salad

For dinner I made the borlotti bean stew with sweet potato and you guessed it… had my final cleansing juice of the day. The stew was delicious, very filling and was so quick to make. I will be keeping the recipe for future speedy dinner ideas (find it here if you are interested).

Bean Stew

Bean Stew

I weighed in this morning at 9 stone 9 with a 27 inch waist.

Day 2 – RESTORE

I woke up with more energy, I was surprised by this as although my calories were still reasonable I thought I might have woken up hungry and lethargic but I felt better than most days.

Today is raw day. Starting the day with my vitamin sachet added to freshly made orange juice and post workout I enjoyed a bowl of overnight blueberry oats made with ground almonds and almond milk and topped with raw honey and hazelnuts. Yum. Breakfast is definitely my favourite part of this plan as its similar to what I usually eat and super tasty.

Overnight Blueberry Oats

Overnight Blueberry Oats

Another fresh OJ and my sachet pre-lunch time. Leftover salad for lunch; made the mistake of putting the extra virgin olive oil on too early but we live and learn… I also grazed on some dates to top up my energy.

Mexican Bean Salad

Mexican Bean Salad

Mexican bean salad for dinner; the thought of all these beans leaves me thinking I will end up more bloated but I will trust the cleanse as it has worked so far… Plus this was really tasty and actually filled me up… (Recipe here)

Today I weighed in at 9 stone 7.5 

Day 3 – REJUVENATE

Woke up today feeling surprisingly energetic and not hungry but today is a liquid day and I do not really love smoothies, nor am I passionate about juices but for the sake of sticking to the plan I will try and make a few that I can enjoy. However, Friday = junk food day at work and its almost impossible to resist. I push through, ignore the pizza and enjoy a fruity breakfast smoothie, gingery orange and carrot lunchtime juice and the roasted sweetcorn and carrot soup for dinner. Of course, I have my final 3 sachets and for someone who is always hungry, I seem to have no hunger pangs… although my head is slightly muggy.

Berry Juice

Berry Juice

Pre liquid day I weighed in at 9 stone 7 exactly (lowest I have been in a year)

Carrot, Orange, Apple and Ginger

 

Results

Overall, I started the process at 9 stone 9 with a 27 inch waist and within the 3 days I have lost 3lbs leaving me at 9 stone 6 with a 26.5 inch waist. Would I recommend this cleanse? In my opinion this ideal promotes healthier eating, resetting your body with a nutrient rich, plant based diet and as Chris James himself stated ‘it is not a starvation diet’. Of course you will lose weight eating less but that is not the point here. The main focus is on beating the digestive bloat and feeling better, which to be honest I did. This does not mean that the next day you should eat a pizza as these principles should be applied to everyday life to create a healthier, yet sustainable lifestyle.

Do not expect to drop a dress size in three days (but if that was possible it would not be healthy, so I would recommend steering clear of anything that promises such a quick fix). If you have an event coming up that you want to beat the bloat for or you want to reset your digestion after a naughty few days then as long as you stick to it, this detox will help set you on the right path for a healthier you.

*Taken from https://www.chrisjamesmindbody.com/product/3r-3-day-cleanse/

One thought on “Chris James’ 3R Cleanse Reviewed

  1. Chris James says:

    Well done Faye, a nice balanced review of “3R”. Proof indeed that you can eat yourself to optimal health & wellness. You should try the 12Days programme next time! Very best wishes, CJ

    Like

Leave a Reply

